Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

Hola todos!!!

Leave a comment

We don’t have very much time to email, so if you don’t get a reply from me today, I love you anyways!! I will do my best!

How to describe the CCM… picture like EFY mixed with an asylum. We’re all crammed in here in this tiny area and we were going crazy waiting to see the city!! There are only three small buildings- one for rooms/classes, one for administration, and one for chapel and the cafeteria. I wish we were allowed to send pics but we’re not. But it is so amazing. I don’t know where to start. There are about 100 missionaries here. All of us from North America can fit in a small Relief Society room. There are sooo many Latinos!! They are my FAVORITE. We don’t know what they are saying most of the time, and vice versa when we try to speak Spanish, but it just goes to show you that you don’t even really need to the language to communicate. Our teachers are all Latinos and they speak Spanish todo el tiempo, and we are expected to speak Spanish all of the time. It’s hard sometimes, but it is so fun! The language is coming along great! Most is review ahora, but I can work ahead in the computer program and everything is coming along muy bueno.

Quick story about tender mercies: so I was playing volleyball on one of our physical activities, and me and Elder Turnblom (and elder from me districto) totally collided and my ankle got really messed up. I don’t really know what happened to it, all I know is that I had never felt pain like that before and I couldn’t walk on it and there were tears and it was bad. I was going to try to walk it off throughout the day, but I just couldn’t so I asked Elder Schaeffer and Elder Cowger from my districto to give me a blessing. Elder Cowger had never given a blessing before and I swear it was the most perfect blessing I had ever received. I thought he was reading it from a card or something. He said everything I needed to hear and I felt comfort and the next day I could walk again! The day after that I felt no pain!! The church is true!

My compañera is Hermana Baker from Lehi, Utah. She is way cool and we are such a good match for a companionship! My roommates are Hermana Eliason from Utah and Hermana Fostia from NEW ZEALAND. Ahhhh I love them so much! I couldn’t ask for any better people to spend these next six weeks with. We laugh and have fun and help each other out with our different strengths and it is perfecto.

There are 8 people in our district, so we all get to know each other pretty well. It’s constant fun with all of them. We pretty much all spend the day together and they are soo cool. Rememeber Elder Mallon from the airport? He is in there too. All of us except Elder Turnblom are going to Lima North mission!!! I can’t wait to see them throughout the next two years!!

All of the other missionaries are cool too. Cause there are so few of us, we get to know everyone in the MTC. Missionaries are my favorite people, for real!

We taught our first investigators this week. Yadira and Mattias (played by our teachers Hermana Chacón and Hermano Valasquez, based on their first converts in their missions) Our first lesson was pretty awkward, mostly cause it was in Spanish, but the second (with the same investigator) was soooo good! Our teacher said that she could really feel the spirit and that we made her feel good, that we taught the concepts really clearly, and that she really understood the importance of our concepts and all this stuff. I know we have a lot to work on, but it so good to know that we can still have a really good lesson even when we don’t speak the language perfectamente.

When we got here, they said that we wouldn’t have fun at the MTC, but that we would enjoy it, which is weird since I’m having so much fun!!! I’m so happy! The spirit is always here and I don’t think things could be any better!!

Love you all talk to you next week!!

Hermana Evans

p.s. Elder Evans from the 70 is going to be here on Sunday, and I’m accompanying the piece the choir is singing!! I’m so excited – it’s a beautiful arrangement of I Need Thee Every Hour!! It’s going to be soo amazing, I wish you all could see it!

Leave a Reply

