Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

CCM Week 2

Leave a comment

So I have to stop playing volleyball… I totally whacked up my finger and it´s swollen twice its size and now it’s all black and blue. I just start cracking up every time I look at it because its so ridiculous.

What a great week! We get to go to the temple on pdays and its is the best thing ever! The Lima temple is so beautiful! The spirit is strong in Spanish too 🙂

All of the latinos and avanzados left, and so we got 9 new missionaries this week! It´s so wonderful to be an intermedio now… We´re the cool ones on campus now! It was so weird a couple of days ago when all of the people in our language level went to interpol and migraciones, and it was just us and maybe 20 other missionaries at the whole MTC. I love how small it is because you get to know everyone there and you become like a little big family!! And now we have a whole new group of people to torture with the impossible color wheel game! (It´s an elder initiation thing. They wouldn’t tell me the secret until like two days ago.) They are sort of like that black magic game.. where you have to guess the rule. The Elders thinks it’s hilarious. It´s not. But it´s kind of tradition, so we all play along.

Hna Baker and I are getting better at teaching together! She has this amazingly strong testimony in our lessons that always brings the spirit.

I´m learning so much everyday. The biggest thing this week for me has been learning pacience. I have so much to learn about pacience, that I didn´t even know I had the problem with! The Lord is truly shaping me and humbling me. It´s the best!

Elder Evans (member of the Seventy over all the missionaries in the whole world) came and gave a devotional last week about repentance! I was truly uplifted and inspired through the whole talk. I wish I wrote down the scriptures before I came to email, but study Mosiah chapters 2-4 to really learn how to repent, what happens to us when we repent, and what we feel when we know we´ve been forgiven.

This week I was studying 2 Nephi 2 for an investigator, and I was just overcome with the spirit. God lives. Our lives are hard, because now is the time to prepare to meet God. Our lives weren´t supposed to be easy. We must pass through sorrow to know the good. God sent His Son to suffer all things an d it is through HIs love that we find peace and a way through our struggles. Our lives are hard, but that doesn´t mean that God doesn´t love us. His love is His sacrifice for all of us. We have the choice to follow him and feel of that changing and healing grace in our lives. I have felt so much of that through my decisions this week. I have felt His love run through me as a purifying agent as I was cleansed and forgiven of my sins. I have felt his forgiveness this week in ways that I didn´t quite understand before. There is no better feeling than to know that God loves you, He forgives you when you repent, and that closeness you feel to Him after you do. If you have anything you are struggling with, turn to God right now. He already knows what you are going to. Make the choice to turn to Him and let Him help you through it. I promise that He will and that only good things come from it. Only good things come from God.

The food here is good… so much rice and beans and meat. We get dessert with every meal and they are ok. I´ve heard the food gets better after the MTC so I have that to look forward to! The weather is so beautiful. Always overcast and it makes the Andes look awesome. I have fallen in love with the city of Lima. Missions are the best!!

Pray daily!

Hermana Evans

p.s. my p-days are changing to Wednesdays next week.

Leave a Reply

