Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

Week 10

Leave a comment

Hola todos!! This week was super great!!

We had work visits (I think that’s what is is in English) with the sister trainers this week which was super great. I was with Hna Ritchie from Oklahoma so it was super weird to be walking around with another gringo. She is lo maximo (best). I learned a lot about how to contact with love and let me tell you it is the secret to having new investigators that are families!! I learned much from ella (her). It was weird when I assisted her barrio because there were people that I already knew there! This is normal in the states, but in Peru I never imagined that that would happen. It was way cool. A little nino asked me. “why are you so white? Do you walk in the shade?” And I swear I about died. It was hilarious. One thing that I’ve discovered about myself is that I have the Davis curse. No matter how much walking around in the sun that we do, I have not gotten any darker. Forever gringa.

This week we had a lesson that I hope I never forget. We were teaching a menos activo (less active) member and her husband. She has been reading and praying and all, but hasn’t attended church in a long time. Her husband kept saying things like “Nobody is perfect, and everyone will always have one thing that they will be hard for them to do” as an excuse for not attending church. Oh man, les quemaron. (Sorry, I don’t know that in English) We taught very strongly the evangelio (gospel) de Jesus Cristo that yeah all of us are sinners, and we will not be perfect in this life, but we need to always be repent and through Christ, we can be cleansed from all of our sins. We literally did what it says numerous times in the scriptures, to call people to repentance. It was such a powerful experience and the spirit just flowed through us and you could feel it in the air. We experienced how the spirit of God is like a fire that is burning. I really sympathize with Alma, “Oh that I were an angel and could have the wish of my heart and declare repentance unto every people . Yea, I would declare unto every soul as with he voice of thunder repentance and the plan of redemption that they should repent and come unto our God, that there might not be any more sorrow upon all the face of the earth. ”

This is my joy as a missionary, to have the authority to declare repentance and to see people lives change through Christ. There will be no sorrow on the face of the Earth if people repent and anchor themselves in Christ. Turn away from sin and turn to prayer, the scriptures, the church, and repent off all your sins and you will know Christ and the joy that comes through true repentance and through true forgiveness. Never forget the words that Christ said, “Whosoever will come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross, and follow me. For whosoever will save his life shall lose it. But whosoever shall lose his life for my sake and for the gospel`s, the same shall find it.” Don’t be afraid to sacrifice a little bit of yourself, a little bit of pride and a habit, and be filled with charity, and you will be filled with peace and joy in this life as will as the next.

Hermana Evans

I finally found churros!

10 - Churro

Our service project that turned into a paint guerra (war).

10 - Service Project Paint WarAnticucho and tripre (I think that’s how you spell them… cow heart and intestine!! Ricismiso!!!)
10 - Anticucho & Tripe (cow heart and insestine)Hermana Ritchie during the intercambios (exchanges)

10 - Hermana Ritchie

Leave a Reply

