Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

Missionary Work

Leave a comment

The Lord has taught me many things this week. I was asked to give a talk on how to be a missionary at BYU after my mission. When I got the assignment I felt instantly guilty because I felt like after a year and half of complete service I haven’t done anything these past 4-5 months of being at home. I dove into my scripture study in I Nephi 21 and I felt like the scriptures were opened up to me about how we can be missionaries and serve our brothers and sisters. The chapter starts out in verse one saying, “And again: Hearken, O ye house of Israel, all ye that are broken off and are driven out because of the wickedness of the pastors of my people…”

I see this verse as explaining who we can serve and do missionary work for. We have all been scattered in one way or another. In Spanish pastor renders as a shepherd. Looking at it this way, the wickedness of the shepherds can literally be wicked priests or pastors that contributed to the apostasy, or, contrasting to the antitheses to the good shepherd, Satan is the most wicked one of all. I believe that encompasses all those who transgress and are scattered from the fold of God by sin.

That chapter unfolds and talks about how God will give us for a light unto the gentiles, or those outside of the covenant, so that we can bring His salvation to all the ends of the earth. (see vs 6) This is a classic missionary work scripture.

What I love most is what it talks about in verse 22. It says, “Behold, I will lift up mine hand to the Gentiles, and set up my standard to the people; and they shall bring thy sons in their arms, and thy daughters shall be carried upon their shoulders.”

To me this is just the perfect rendition of what service is. The imagery of picking up and carrying up God’s children on our shoulders is so beautiful. We literally have charge over them and it is definitely how I feel when I do service towards others.

Leave a Reply

