Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

How to be Mighty

Leave a comment

If you’re like me, you often times feel like you are at the end of your line. You feel like you’ve done everything you can, and yet you still fall short of doing everything you’re expected to do. You know that God gives weakness so we can be humble and return to him, but sometimes you wonder why does it have to be so hard? Why can’t I just move on with this? Why can’t I get through this obstacle? Or why can’t I help a loved one see the light of the gospel?

I think it is very normal to feel these things, and we can learn from some of the greatest prophets that it is part of our mortal experiences to feel like we fall short of a lot of things. After all, it is not by our merits, but Christ’s, that we will obtain anything at all.

I loved what Nephi said in 2 Nephi 33. He was obviously a very great speaker, but felt like he fell short in many ways. He felt that he was much more mighty in speaking, because he felt like through speaking, he could speak through the spirit, to bring them message unto the hearts of the people. Honestly, I feel like understanding how the spirit is key to understanding how we can become mighty and do things that we couldn’t do for ourselves. Through the power of the spirit, God can work his atonement on us. We are cleansed by the spirit, we receive power through the spirit, we can learn to talk with the tongue of angels through the spirit, and though the spirit, we will be able to know and be shown all things.

As I have lived to have the spirit with me, I have noticed an extra power to do things and perceive things that were definitely beyond my own capability. It is a power so understood, in my opinion, and holds the key to unlocking some of God’s power that we can use on this earth.

Leave a Reply

