Hermana Evans

Peru Lima North Mission

Trust

Leave a comment

“You need to trust Jesus more”

This line echoed through my mind as I thought about the tears that were spilt the night before. It was one of those weeks. Drowning in midterms. Figuring out what I was to do with my life. Typical mid-semester crisis with so many questions. Will I make it into PA school? Will I get married before I leave BYU? If so, where will I go to school? Where will I live? Why can’t I get a job? How will I plan my schedule next semester? How can I plan it and still have time to get a job? Will I even have time to work? What if I don’t get the grades I want this semester? etc.

As a friend lovingly reminded me, there is only so much we have in our control. The rest we leave to God to help us figure out. I’m a planner. I’m a doer. The idea that there are things I cannot do and plan sometimes drives me a little crazy.

But I love the comfort that comes when we can finally just let go and hand it over to God.

Sometimes the Lord tries us and doesn’t give us the big picture all the time. This tries our patience and our faith, as stated in Mosiah 23:21. When we put our trust in him, he will make us stronger to bear the things that worry and burden us. The reality of life and the trial may not go away, but we have an increased capacity to be able to do it all. Knowing this, it is a lot easier to say, look, “I can’t do everything by myself, but I am willing to allow thee to help me to get it done the way thou would have me do it.”

When we do this we see that the Lord “[hushes] our fears” to the point where the things that once so easily beset us now are burdens we so easily carry.

Leave a Reply

